“All of a sudden, it wasn’t funny anymore. We felt threatened & uncomfortable.”

My friend and I were walking to the deli one summer night to buy some snacks. It was about 8 p.m. and it was starting to get a little dark. As we were walking there, we received some whistles and some, “How are you ladies today?” but we just laughed because it was funny and a little flattering, I must admit.

While we were walking back, there was a group of guys across the street outside of a house just hanging out. Their ages ranged from maybe about 17-20. As we passed by them, a guy starting shouting some words to us but we didn’t hear him so we just kept on going. Then he power strided across the street full force, almost getting hit by a car, shouting, “Ayo mami, what’s good?” and, “I’m talking to you, turn around!”

He was coming towards us very aggressively and I was scared. A few of his friends had to hold him back because they noticed how obscene his behavior was. I was so scared, that I jogged away a little because my heart was beating intensely. The guy got very close, he almost grabbed me, but luckily his friend got him and apologized to us for his actions.

I was very shaken after this. He almost got hit by a CAR, but he kept going! We were only 13 at the time. Sure, we looked older than our age, but even if we were older, that is just not appropriate at all.

It did not feel good at all. We didn’t laugh. We weren’t flattered. All of a sudden, it wasn’t funny anymore. We felt threatened and uncomfortable. He crossed the line.

– Veronica

Location: Brooklyn, NY

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

2 Responses to “All of a sudden, it wasn’t funny anymore. We felt threatened & uncomfortable.”

  1. atozinco says:

    I wonder how it feels like for his friends to be friends with a man like him (knowing that he is a highly abusive threat-to-women with a high chance of raping one)? I hope “it doesn’t feel at all good” to them & that they will discontinue associating with him. But I doubt that will happen. It seems like even ‘rapist-like’ men can continue to be accepted by their mates as just “one of the guys”.

  2. […] “I was very shaken after this. He almost got hit by a CAR, but he kept going! We were only 13 at the time. Sure, we looked older than our age, but even if we were older, that is just not appropriate at all. It did not feel good at all. We didn’t laugh. We weren’t flattered. All of a sudden, it wasn’t funny anymore. We felt threatened and uncomfortable.” Excerpt from here. […]

Leave a comment