“The solidarity of women…left me feeling empowered”

Dressed in my finest power suit, I walked along a tree-lined street in cobble hill, the sun was shining and I felt great as I mentally prepared for my interview. As I passed a brownstone where people were unloading party supplies from a Party Rental LTD truck, you know the one with the pink hippo painted on the trucks, one of the delivery men came close to me and whispered in his best husky voice, “Hey sexy, i would want to get to know you”, I was shocked, for some silly reason I thought no street predator could possibly bother a woman in a power suit…

Normally, I would walk away fuming or give the jerk a dirty look, but I was my power suit damn it, so I walked up to this man and asked him his name and why he felt it was acceptable to degrade women. Robert (no last name) covered his work badge, and cowered away yelling out apologies as I threaten to call his company and report him. Funny enough I drew a mob of woman backing me up – the solidarity of women (and hopefully the firing of Robert) left me feeling empowered, but sadly, this is only one jerk that may second guess harassing women.

– Anonymous

Location: Congress btw Henry and Clinton, Brooklyn, New York

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

3 Responses to “The solidarity of women…left me feeling empowered”

  1. Megan says:

    Very nice! You are my hero!

  2. Alan says:

    It starts with one. good for you!

  3. atozinco says:

    Serious kudos to you for confronting him about his behaviour! (and also to the women who backed you up). He obviously knew his behaviour was rude & unacceptable because he covered his name badge up.

Leave a comment