“Stop frowning, smile goddamnit!”

Doing my shopping after work in Little Five Points. I still had on my work uniform, and it was incredibly hot. I have to walk from the train station to the district, and by the time I finally reached the store I wanted to go to, I was sweating bullets.

As I’m approaching the doors to this shop, two men are standing on the street. The sidewalk is narrow, and while these men don’t block my path, they will be fairly close to me as I pass by. I walk past, completely in my own world, until the bald-headed one yells at me, and I’ll quote, “Stop frowning, smile goddamnit!” His partner started laughing.

And I tried not to let that get to me. I left the store 30 minutes after finding a great pair of jeans and the men were gone, I got a great studded purse after leaving the district…but every time I think about this, I get a hot spasm of anger.

Second story submitted to this map, but yeah.

– Jaleesa

Location: Atlanta (Little Five Points), GA

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

5 Responses to “Stop frowning, smile goddamnit!”

  1. Golden Silence says:

    Second story submitted to this map, but yeah.

    Jaleesa, keep sharing your stories. As sad as it is that we continually get harassed and have these stories to share, posting them to sites like this one is a way of making the world aware of this problem and getting support from women and allies around the world.

    And yes, I think it’s ignorant that these men think it’s their mission to make women they don’t know smile. Punks!

  2. Jaleesa says:

    Thank you. And the stupid thing is, why would you cussing me out and yelling at me make me smile? Idiots!

  3. Leia says:

    I never thought about this as street harrassment before. But this has happened to me on a few occassions because, like you, I walk around in my own little world! Saying that, I have also had a woman say it to me.

  4. Unfortunately, even if a lady happens to be smiling already, due, perhaps, to a friend or a song or a memory, it doesn’t still the freaks.

  5. Jen says:

    I had this the other day from some charming builders. I was on my way to a doctor’s appointment at the time because I was worried about some symptoms that tallied with those for ovarian cancer. So excuse me if I didn’t have a big grin on my face to brighten up your day, which is apparently what I exist for as a woman….

Leave a comment