Penske Guy

Image from Penske Truck Rental's website

This morning, it was beautiful outside when I went for a run: 65 degrees, 60% humidity, sunny, and there were trees blooming along the sidewalk. I was enjoying my run, deep in thought, when a guy in a Penske truck honked at me and, while driving, leaned out of the truck window, leering, and waving obnoxiously at me.

I’m not opposed to interactions with others while running. When I pass by other runners or walkers, unless I’m sprinting, I like saying hi, exchanging a “good job” or “nice day, huh?” But I don’t like being startled/distracted/disrespected by men honking and hollaring from passing vehicles. Oh and he was acting dangerously since he was distracted while driving.

– holly

Location: Reston Parkway, near Route 7, Reston, VA

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

2 Responses to Penske Guy

  1. Alan says:

    Wished he’d have run into a tree!

  2. I work for Penske and I’m sorry to read this. Since this was one of our yellow vehicles it was most likely rented by a customer and not operated by an employee. While Penske cannot control what customers say/do once they have rented one our trucks we do apologize. I hope you’ll consider Penske for your future truck rental needs.

Leave a comment