“High school idiots”

I was driving home from work, and I usually have to drive through Salem, Massachusetts, and past the high school there. It was nice out, so I had my window open and was in a line of traffic. As I sat there, two teenage boys, both black, walked by and began to holler, not at me, but a very pretty Hispanic girl across the street.

One boy was far more vocal than his friend, and yelled things like, “Hey! Stop walking so fast!” The girl, thankfully, knew better to than to listen, because she was really booking it. I wanted to yell at the boy and tell him to leave her alone, but I was worried that he might attack me or go after her after I’d driven off.

The fact that this type of behavior is considered okay for men of all ages is sick, and I personally blame music, television and movies for reinforcing sexual harassing behaviors. Teenage boys do like to think about girls, yes, but they should not be harassing their classmates on the street. I’m personally thinking about complaining directly to Salem Hugh School and demand they take action somehow.

If there are any high school girls that use this site, I think it’s important that you all know that no male, classmate or otherwise, has the right to treat you like shit, and that you have every right to say something about it and get support from your school.

– J.

Location: Salem, Massachusetts

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

3 Responses to “High school idiots”

  1. Golden Silence says:

    I’m personally thinking about complaining directly to Salem High School and demand they take action somehow.

    Yes, do that! That’s a great idea. That school needs to be aware of how its students are acting.

  2. I agree! J, if you can, report it and you may be able to make a difference. If you see them again, try to take a picture and report them to the school that way, too.

  3. Jessie says:

    I plan on doing so, I’m very angry about this.

Leave a comment