“Never Wanted to Be A Princess”

Saturday, Nov. 21st around 4 p.m. near City Hall in NYC, I got out of the subway and was running late to meet my boyfriend. A couple of men passed me and one said, “You have a nice holiday now!” (which while weird, isn’t so bad) as I passed him he followed up with, “I think you look like a princess.”

Around the corner and a completely different man pushing a hand truck of produce goes, “Heeeeey sweetie!”

Made me feel like I must have been wearing something inappropriate/overly revealing to receive so much attention. I hate that I internalize it like that.

– ML

Location: New York City

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

Leave a Reply

