“When you talk about women like that in front of me, you are insulting me”

Years ago, in my hometown of Buffalo, NY, I was waiting at the bus stop where two guys were making misogynistic comments about women, talking about who they could “fuck” while calling them “hoes,” “bitches,” and whatever nasty thing could come out of their mouths. At first I chose to quietly walk a few paces away from them so I wouldn’t have to be subjected to that, but when they said, “Bitch, we ain’t talkin’ about you!” I had to say something.

“When you talk about women like that in front of me, you ARE insulting ME and I don’t want to hear it,” I said.

“Shut up, bitch!” the ringleader responded.

“Man, you are ignorant and uneducated,” I said.

“I’m not uneducated…I got my college degree!” the one guy said.

“So?” I responded. “I have one and so do many other people. It doesn’t make you special.”

This guy got so angry and embarrassed at being called “uneducated,” as well as being pointed at and laughed at by his friend for being “dissed” by me, that he got quiet. He looked like he was going to cry!

“She called me ‘uneducated’!” he whined quietly.

The bus finally came and we all boarded, the guy with his head hanging down in defeat and me feeling good for standing up for myself and other women. Serves him right and I’m sure he knows better than to call women “bitches” and “hoes” like that now.

– D

Location: Bus stop at Grant Street & West Ferry Street, Buffalo, NY

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Find suggestions for what YOU can do about this human rights issue.

One Response to “When you talk about women like that in front of me, you are insulting me”

  1. friday jones says:

    You are entirely made out of awesomeness. I love how you responded! I have to remember to add “uneducated” to my list of potential responses.

Leave a comment