“What’s a pretty little girl like you doing in a wheelchair?”

I was recently in a burn accident and my leg is in bandages.

My parents were helping me into our van outside the hospital when this older man walked by and said, “What’s a pretty little girl like you doing in a wheelchair?” and he winked at me before he went inside the hospital.

It was just really creepy.

Like my leg is any of his business.

Or just that he called me a “pretty little girl”… yeah, I really like to be referred to as a child and demoted to someone who’s incapable, yknow?

– BMH

Location: 801 Broadway N, Fargo, ND 58122

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

One Response to “What’s a pretty little girl like you doing in a wheelchair?”

  1. Thank you for sharing your story. I’m sorry this happened to you. In addition to the reasons you state for why this is upsetting, I find it ridiculous for him to suggest that “pretty” people can only be able-bodied and that having a disability and being pretty are incompatible. And to say those harmful assumptions to a stranger! AAHH!

Leave a comment