Scary, drunk harassers at 4 a.m.

I had been out with my friends at the club night at our students’ union and I was walking home alone at about 4 in the morning. Normally I get the bus but they had stopped running at 3am. I got all the way to my road, close enough to see my house, and a group of drunk guys asked me directions to somewhere.

I told them that I didn’t know, as I’d just moved to the area, and kept walking. Just as I got to the door of my house they all started shouting ‘Come back here, sexy, fuck me, why are you running off so quick…’ and other offensive things. By this point I was on my doorstep, terrified that I wasn’t going to be able to get into my house safely. Nothing more happened, but it so easily could have. It still scares me.

– KM

Location: Headingley, Leeds, UK

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

Leave a comment