Names that demean women

I haven’t had any experiences with harassment recently (which is a change) but i would like to share my thoughts with you about something that has bothered me since i was 16. This is about the sexual double standard. Now as im sure most of you are well aware of it, you must know exactly what i mean.

I am 19. So im still young and learning but i have definitely learnt that being a woman, i have had to deal with the fact that im going to be discriminated against because of my gender. There are three reasons why i have been called names, laughed at, critised, humiliated and objectified.

1) Because i am rather big busted. Actually i am an average size D cup, but others think different.

2) I can come across at times as being rather ‘hawty’. Also meaning ‘stuck up’.

3) The biggest reason of all, because im a WOMAN.

Now let me tell you that i have been called many different names BUT as im a female, i’ve been called these particular nasty names which i have taken more notice of. I feel these names demeans our gender and is what created the sexual double standard.

Bitch, prude, snob, slag, slut, tart and cunt.
I absolutely HATE these names.
I am called a bitch for standing up for myself.
I am called a prude if i rejected some jerks lewd advances.
I am called a slag because i wear a low top.
This makes me so mad!

If i was a man, i wouldn’t be called any of these names but because i have a vagina, i have been called these names countless flipping times!

Men have sneered at my breasts. I remember once a guy telling me that my ‘tits’ are so big, i’d crash a car! Well these ‘tits’ ( oh and they’ve always got to use the most crude language don’t they) are a very useful thing on a woman and once upon a time, your mother fed you milk from these wonderful things to keep you alive as a baby!

Some men are so damned foul mouthed. Exuse me ranting so much but i’ve just about had enough of it! I deserve to be treated with respect and not have to feel constantly nervous when i go out incase men stare at me, pass remarks or critise me. I should be able to wear what i want, be proud of my body and have every right to turn down a mans pathetic chat up lines!

Honestly, what makes them think asking a woman for a shag is so flattering?! It’s not, it’s rude! When are men ever going to learn that women are not here to be portrayed. We are human beings, not sex objects!

– Clarice

Location: Wales, UK

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

One Response to Names that demean women

  1. I know all the same stuff and I think a lot of women are so totally fed up with this shit… by the way: that has nothing to do with how the woman looks like!

Leave a comment