Guess who

Guess who I saw again on my way to work this morning? This guy from this story: https://streetharassment.wordpress.com/2010/07/29/long-hair-lewdness-short-hair-rudeness/

Since it’s been less than two months since I last saw him, I thought I’d never see him again. Wrong!

I got off the bus with a few folks, and for a second I was walking side by side with one woman, so it looked like we could’ve been together. Of course, this punk says, “Good morning, LADY,” not “ladies,” because we know I’m too “ugly” with my short hair for him to treat me with respect. Rolling my eyes.

I moved towards the curb to continue walking so I didn’t have to walk directly past him. Then he starts yelling, “Oh, my god! Oh, MY GOD!” obnoxiously. I opted to ignore him because I was just not in the mood to deal with him again.

If he’s out there again tomorrow and he gets aggressive with me like he did the first time, I’ll call the police. (Today’s incident wasn’t worth a call to the police.) I’ve wondered if I should print out the first story with his photos and hang it up near where he stands, as a way of informing others about him and hopefully scaring him off for good.

– Tired of Being Harassed

Location: Arlington, VA

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

2 Responses to Guess who

  1. Alan says:

    good luck tomorrow. i’ll be rooting for you and interested in learning if he was there and how you handled it!

  2. Tired of Being Harassed says:

    I took a different route on Friday (I had an errand to run before work), but he was not outside today (Monday). Good! I hope he stays gone and this time for good!

Leave a comment