Harassers at work & in the parking lot prompt move

I work part time at a retail store. Most of my customers are male because of the type of store I work in. I’m still fairly new to this area and “Southern Hospitality” is the last of what I receive since relocating. I often have men making lewd comments that are just inappropriate and make me highly uncomfortable. Things really changed when I had a “customer” corner me and try to make me hug him. I was the only one on the sales floor but my boss was sitting in the back and he did nothing to help me out of the situation which he could clearly see from the surveillance cameras. When I approached him about that situation all he could say was “Tell them to leave”. I mean seriously, that it? There’s only ever one of us on the sales floor at any given time.

My husband and I talked about it and we both decided if my company did not want to do anything to help then we would have to figure something out ourselves. Because of the constant harassment I’ve changed my availability to morning hours only (when the creeps are least likely lurking). When the harassment continued out of my job and into the parking lot it became more uncomfortable, things have gotten to the point that I carry a taser with me in and out of work. My husband and I are in the process of selling our home to move closer to family where I feel safer and protected.

– “Frustrated and Disgusted”

Location: Pemberton Square Blvd. Vicksburg, Ms 39180

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

3 Responses to Harassers at work & in the parking lot prompt move

  1. TBONE says:

    The boss of a company should be obligated to protect his female worker from such harrassment. If the company refuses to make the female workers feel safe then the women should quit and maybe the company will go out of business. They deserve to!

  2. Jaleesa says:

    As hard a job market as it currently is, it sucks when this type of harassment spills over into work. The response from your boss is completely ridiculous. You deserve better.

  3. Tbg says:

    You should talk to boss straight out once more and ask him to make the work conditions a little better. As the employer he is obligated to make working conditions safe for his women employees. If he fails to do that, then he’s an incompetent person and you should report him to the senior management.

Leave a comment