Street harassment is psychological intimidation

The ‘drive-by’ —

Coming back home by myself after coffee at a a cafe, it had started raining. I was wearing cut-offs and a t-shirt. Just about to cross a road, some guys in a van shouted ‘wa-hey’ as it sped past. Because I was by myself, they couldn’t resist the opportunity to reinforce their ownership of the public space. It’s interesting how I felt I should ‘explain’ what I was wearing to recount the story… I think that is a big part of the psychological intimidation – you are expected to reflect on and evaluate how you appeared to the men.

– Anonymous

Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, England, UK

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

One Response to Street harassment is psychological intimidation

  1. Tbg says:

    I’m sorry you felt that way and also that you had to go through this. It’s men who are largely to be blamed for the way women feel vulnerable on the street. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a comment