“Mtombazana”

While waiting to cross the road at the traffic lights intersection, two men – one in his own vehicle, the other sticking his head out of a window on a minibus proceeded to make sexualized remarks toward me as means of getting my attention. Trying my best to tune them out became increasingly difficult as the traffic lights took some time to change in order for me to cross, but I did hear one of them call me a name that made some allusion to sweet tasting food to imply that I was edible. The other sitting in a minibus continued to call me “mtombazana” (girl in Zulu) without ceasing. The comments were therefore lewd and of course very disrespectful.

– Ms. Sheeba

Location: Rondebosch, Cape Town, South Africa

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

Leave a comment