“Give us a look”

I’m just 13 and from the UK and I’m sick of harassment too! I have large boobs which aren’t my fault, what do men expect me to do chop them off?! I should not be persistently harassed because of them.

Just yesterday me and my friend were walking up her street, there were two boys/men of between 20-25 in front of us. Suddenly one of them turned round, looked me directly in the eyes and wolf whistled. I, being used to this sort of thing ignored it but I could tell my friend was a little shocked. We walked passed them and then I heard the boy singing “Get your tits out, get your tits out. You’ve got big boobs you’ve got big boobs, give us a look” again and again. By this point me and my friend were a little scared and holding hands and to top it off there was another group of about 5 boys of about 15 ahead who kept looking. Suddenly the first boy ran ahead of us and screamed “I want you, how old are you? I want you” and my friend told him to please leave us alone. He wouldn’t so we began to practically run down the street, thankfully the boys ahead turned around and asked if we were ok and told us to walk ahead of them they “had our backs” but really we found the whole experience terrifying. If those boys hadn’t been there I dread to think what would have happened!

I don’t want to put up with this for the rest of my life. When will men learn it’s not cool, or funny? It’s demeaning and scary and HAS TO END!!!!

– Isadora

Location: UK

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

5 Responses to “Give us a look”

  1. Pedestrienne says:

    Horrid, Isadora! My heart went out to you. Keep on keeping your chin up and keep on refusing to consider it acceptable!

  2. Golden Silence says:

    When will men learn it’s not cool, or funny?

    Hopefully soon, because I too am tired of the nonsense! And you’re only 13?! I’m sorry you have to go through that at such a young age.

  3. Jen says:

    That’s awful – I really feel for you. At the same time, it’s good to know that younger girls are finding websites like this one and registering how they feel about men who act like this.

  4. Margaret says:

    Disgusting behavior on the part of these men. I, like you, have been harassed like this since I was twelve. It’s so wrong!

  5. Friday Jones says:

    I’m also glad that there were actually some men in the area who showed concern for your well-being in the face of this stuff. All too often I hear about bystanders either pretending nothing’s amiss or else laughing or otherwise actively encouraging the bad behavior. It comforts me to know that there are some bystanders who are willing to step up and help out.

Leave a comment