Crank up the Ipod

Harassment started for me at a really young age. Around nine, perhaps. All of the harassers were in their twenties, thirties, forties, or fifties. It was a scary thing to have to be faced with every day as a kid.

My street is residential and I used to go pretty far out of my way to avoid a house where street harassers lived, and hung out in front of, in order to get to the nearest commercial street where businesses are. I had to get to this street multiple times a day for the bus, grocery store, bank, drug store, etc. Now I have an ipod and just crank it up as loud as I can and wince as I go by.

– anonymous

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

2 Responses to Crank up the Ipod

  1. b says:

    I do the same thing when it feels safe enough to block it out. I’ve also been known to keep my headphones on but turn off the music so I can pretend to not hear and gauge whether or not I want to respond.

Leave a comment