A Trip to the Store

I live in a suburban neighborhood in Portland, OR. I was walking alone to a corner store a few blocks from my house, when I saw a group of four young men standing in front of the door. I heard them saying nasty things under their breath as I moved past them into the store but I just ignored it. They began following me around the store through the aisles. I made a purchase and walked out, and they followed me. Still, I said nothing and just kept walking.

They began to follow me down the street and started yelling, “You think you’re too good to talk to us, bitch?” Then they began threatening to rape me, screaming, “I’ll stick my dick up your ass! You’ll be even quieter with 4 cocks in your mouth!” I couldn’t believe it, I hadn’t done or said anything at all, my only apparent crime was walking into a store.

I was so scared as they followed me down the dark street, I was shaking. I began looking for houses with lights on inside so I could run up and bang on the door for help. Finally they stopped and began to walk in the other direction. I started running and didn’t stop until I got home where I locked the doors, got out my gun and called my husband. He came home with some male friends and they went back up to the store to look for the men but they were gone. I haven’t walked up to that store since.

I’m scared to walk around my own neighborhood unless I’m carrying my gun. That’s what its come to. I’d like to think this was an isolated incident but similar things have happened to me before. I guess that’s what you get for simply being female. I don’t believe that violence should be answered with more violence, but God help the next man that does it.

– anonymous

Location: Portland, OR

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

3 Responses to A Trip to the Store

  1. Jeanette says:

    Did you report this incident to the cops? I think being threatened with rape is a good reason to call them.

  2. Golden Silence says:

    They began to follow me down the street and started yelling, “You think you’re too good to talk to us, bitch?” Then they began threatening to rape me…

    Disgusting. I can’t believe they went there with their vulgar commentary. The only thing I agree with is that you are too good to waste your time talking to scum like that. These fools know how worthless they are.

    It breaks my heart to hear this. No woman should be afraid to make a trip to the store.

  3. Margaret says:

    This is disgusting! No one should have to put up with something like that.

Leave a comment