No, I Will Not Marry You!

After getting off the bus, I make a call on my cell phone, passing by a man who says, “Hey baby. Marry me.” I had already passed him when he said it so I just kept walking. I sat down at a Coldstone Creamery table to finish the conversation and eat a snack when the guy comes over and stands in front of me. He says hi and quickly leans in toward my neck when I tell him very loudly and firmly to leave me alone and get away from me. He acts insulted and tells me he only wanted to look at what was on my necklace. I give him a look of contempt and he finally leaves me alone, yelling “Fuck you! Fuck you you fucking bitch!” the entire time he walks down the sidewalk.

I am a student here in Honolulu, I have no car and I am almost always by myself when I run errands at the store or grocery. I am absolutely sick of dealing with this type of bullshit every time I leave my home. I never dealt with this sort of constant harassment in any other city I have lived in.

I am certainly not going to stop telling these pathetic old men to leave me alone just because they will yell and threaten me. I felt completely furious. I was angrier than the time I was waiting at a bus stop and a man got off and persisted to say he’d seen me before and took out his wallet to get out money when I threatened to call the police to get him to leave. Enough is enough, but what can I do?! I don’t know what to do anymore and fear that if I keep having to deal with this on an almost daily basis I will explode on someone one day.

– anonymous

Location: 710 Keeaumoku St, Honolulu, HI

One Response to No, I Will Not Marry You!

  1. Golden Silence says:

    And that pitiful old fart wonders why he hasn’t found his blushing bride. What a bastard! The entitlement and disgusting behavior of these men sickens me!

    Anonymous, I’m sorry you have to go through this.

Leave a comment