“Merry Christmas, baby! Happy holidays!”

Not again!

The same man, who has harassed me on a few occasions (https://streetharassment.wordpress.com/2010/07/29/long-hair-lewdness-short-hair-rudeness/, https://streetharassment.wordpress.com/2010/09/09/guess-who/) and who implied I was “ugly” because I had very short hair was back out on the street again! But get this—he SMILES at me and says, “Merry Christmas, baby! Happy holidays!”

No, I don’t like being called “baby,” but I was shocked at his 180 regarding me. Then I realized that my hair has grown out significantly, making me more “feminine-looking” again and thereby in his warped mind “attractive” now. This mentality has me shaking my head.

I was not in the mood for conflict this morning so I said absolutely nothing and kept walking.

– Tired of Being Harassed

Location: M Street & Wisconsin Avenue, Washington, DC

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Find suggestions for what YOU can do about this human rights issue.

2 Responses to “Merry Christmas, baby! Happy holidays!”

  1. […] for around the holiday time when he called me “baby” and wished me happy holidays, this guy has been randomly outside this Starbucks with his rude and obnoxious commentary towards […]

  2. […] for around the holiday time when he called me “baby” and wished me happy holidays, this guy has been randomly outside this Starbucks with his rude and obnoxious commentary towards […]

Leave a comment