Christmas shopping trip ruined

I had a horrible experience yesterday.

It happened on the bus when i was on my way to my local seaside town to do some xmas shopping. This ordeal left me shaken and in tears, though they were silent tears as i didn’t want other people to notice.

So when i sat on the bus, there was a middle aged man sitting two seats behind me talking on his phone. He was having a discussion about a woman who had rejected him that day. The way he was talking about her was disgusting. I turned around and looked at him. Then when he got off his phone, i heard a, “What are you looking at, you cow?”

I was shocked and said, “Nothing”.

But he proceeded to abuse me by calling me names and then he started making advances to me!

I obviously rejected him and told him that he can’t go around talking to people like that. This made him angrier and he continued his foul mouthed tirade at me, saying i am frigid and dopey.

In the end, he got off before me. I told the bus driver and he took me seriously but i decided not to go to the police.

– Clarice

Location: No 63 bus, Wales, UK

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Find suggestions for what YOU can do about this human rights issue.

3 Responses to Christmas shopping trip ruined

  1. Golden Silence says:

    This guy was a psychotic, misogynistic lunatic who got his thrills taking his anger towards one woman out on all women who happened to cross his path. What a loser! I’m sorry that happened to you. I’m not surprised he got rejected with that “winning” personality of his!

  2. Clarice says:

    Yea, thanks GS, what a dirty pervert he was! I wish i told the driver there and then. It was awful. He was calling me a bitch, cunt, tart and telling me what he’d like to do to me sexually. Then he even had the cheek to tell me to get a job! Jerk! It makes me sick the way some men are…

  3. Cee says:

    Something similar to that almost happened to me once–I was walking down the street and a few steps behind me was a guy talking very angrily on a phone to a woman. He ended the call, paused (I was walking just a few feet away) and very deliberately said, and deliberately loudly enough so he knew I could hear, “CUNT.” (I know it’s different in the UK, but in the States that is a terrible, egregious insult toward women). I stiffened and *almost* said something–but the guy was much bigger than me and I decided I had to let it go. This was like 7 years ago, so obviously I’ve never forgotten it. Just another example of some loser jerk taking out his problems with one woman on the rest of us.

    Good for you for standing up to him.

Leave a comment