“What are you doing, black girl? Practicing to be a whore?!”

I was walking up 6th Avenue and stopped to check something on my phone when this guy came up behind me and said, “What are you doing, black girl? Practicing to be a whore?!”

I was shocked but managed to pretend that I didn’t even hear him. He walked on a little further, proceeding to yell at any other black woman that passed him by, for absolutely no reason. He asked one how much it’d cost for a blowjob (apparently he only had $3 on him), told one pregnant woman that her “pussy will be mad loose in a few weeks”, and loudly accused a very old woman of asking sexual favors. No one acknowledged him, which seemed to be irritating him, but I wonder if “men” like this will ever meet their match.

– Gab

Location: Chelsea, NYC

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

3 Responses to “What are you doing, black girl? Practicing to be a whore?!”

  1. Clarice says:

    I’m lost for words! What a foul mouthed little squirt. I don’t think I could of resisted saying something. I’ve been told that I’m a stubborn little so and so and I’m known to be ‘stuck up’. I’ve been called a bitch for standing up to these type of sad, immature assholes when at the end of the day, I’m simply defending my right to be able to go anywhere without being bothered! It makes me so mad that you can’t even walk down the street without being hollered at simply because we’re female. And in your case, can’t even look at your phone!

  2. Didn’t anyone bother to call the cops?

    I’m sorry you had to go through this. Such people need to be put away for a long long time. They are a disgrace.

  3. I am experiencing a similar situation in my neighborhood. It seems that people automatically think that all black women are prostitutes and they can approach us in any manner they see fit. Even if it is inhumane!

Leave a comment