“Daaaaamn. Is that your lady?”

I no longer live in Tallahassee, FL, but the street harassment I experienced there has stuck in my memory. I lived along a main street, where I would walk to go to the grocery store or pharmacy, and every time without fail, some entitled douche would feel the need to honk or yell at me, even from across six lanes of traffic.

One particularly offensive incident involved me walking along that street late at night with my then-boyfriend. I was wearing a tank top and pajama pants, no makeup–not exactly dressed to please. Two guys in a car slowed down to look at my ass. They then proceeded to address my ex, and ignore me.

“Daaaaamn. Is that your lady?”

His lady. Because I’m only important in reference to him, right? Because I’m not actually present right now, right?

Right.

Before my ex could reply, I stuck my middle finger up. The sped off with a “Fine! Fuck you, bitch!”

The nerve of me.

– Melissa D.

Location: W. Tennessee Street, Tallahassee, FL

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

One Response to “Daaaaamn. Is that your lady?”

  1. Clarice says:

    And fuck you too asshole. Jeez, what is it with men and the word ‘bitch’? It seems as though that these harassers are so dumb that they can’t think of any other word to insult a woman! It makes me sick. I can’t understand why men want to degrade women by using that stupid word along with ‘cunt’ and ‘slut’. Im tired of having to read these sexist terms being used so openly and casually towards females.

Leave a comment