Ways to deal with street harassment in Indonesia

It happened when I lived in Jakarta (Indonesia). My family (my husband and I have 2 kids) just moved there. I like taking my bike to see around the neighbourhood or just walk.

Most of the houses have guards. They sit or stand outside of the gate house together, playing card or smoke together. One day I passed them with my bike. When I was right i front of them, they started to whistle at me, a few of them were calling me, “hei hei where are you going?”, they said many things to me.

But, hey, I’m a mature woman. They can not do that to me. I’m not innocent little girl anymore. Be careful you, men!! So, I stopped my bike calmly, I went to them, looked at them calmly and confidence and said lots of things, that i do not like what they did to me. I said that I live in this neighbourhood, they will see me nearly everyday, and that will not be nice for me if they keep doing that, I also can report them to their bosses (they do not want to loose their job of course).

They said sorry.

And then every time I ride my bike or walk going somewhere, I always wear something nice, looking smart and “wealthy”. I realised, after a few experiences, if I wear something too simple (just t-shirt and short pants and sandal no make up) I got this street harassment. But if i wear something nice (at least wear shoes and sunglasses!!), I don’t get this nasty thing. And carry myself with confidence.

I hate street harassment.

– Anonymous

Location: Jakarta, Indonesia

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

One Response to Ways to deal with street harassment in Indonesia

  1. Good for you. You handled that in a very smart way. And now you can enjoy your bike ride which is all you wanted to do in the first place.

Leave a comment