“Getting in women’s faces is aggressive”

I’ve had a really good day at work and am merrily on my street, almost at my door, weighed down with tins of cat food, when I notice three people coming towards me. I recognise them – they live a few doors down from me – one girl and two guys, all (I think) Turkish students. As I have to walk past them, the taller of the two guys is practically goddamn drooling at my modest shirt dress covered up by a coat and when he gets near me leans over to get right in my face. The other guy (and girl!) don’t even bat an eyelid and I respond by shouting, “Get a grip!” after I’ve rushed past him.

By the time I get home, I’m seething – I’m on my own street and the end of my blissful day has been ruined by this idiot. I’m feeling fragile and end up crying to my boyfriend (whilst Romeo down the road has probably forgotten my existence by now). I don’t usually let this get to me, but it was the blatant aggression of it.

Getting in women’s faces is aggressive and nothing more than a pathetic attempt to shove your masculine ‘power’ in my face. If you try this one again, mate, I think I’ll be doing my best scream queen caterwaul back in your face so you leave with your ears ringing. Leave me the hell alone!

– Anonymous

Location: Waldeck Road, North London, UK

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

One Response to “Getting in women’s faces is aggressive”

  1. S says:

    Disgusting. Disgusting how this is very prevalent in the Muslim culture and yes the Turkey culture is highly influenced by the Muslim culture or rather it is the Muslim culture. Disgusting how the people with him and almost everyone from Turkey think this is normal so that is why they don’t even bat a eye. I am sorry that happened to you and I am sick of it happening and these perverts never stopping. It is sickening. I am glad you shouted, good for you. I am sorry about their disgusting behavior.

Leave a comment