Through a phone call

I’ve had to deal with cat calling and staring since i was in my early teens, and i was ALWAYS extremely uncomfortable with it. So i had an attitude that i will NOT deal with the crap these creeps put girls through and pretty much…be a b*tch if anyone tries to hit on me or say disgusting things to me. i don’t like to be hit on. these days, being hit on mixed with some vodka can lead to something called rape.

im 21 now and has any of this stopped..nope! these men are thick headed and don’t GET IT. i am a 21 year old girl living in new jersey. i have an amazing boyfriend, a Marine and Iraq Veteran. you would think i have nothing to worry about regarding my safety. wrong!! the other night, when my boyfriend was away for the marines for a few days i got a weird phone call. it was a guy..and he was pretty much screaming at me saying he knows me and needs to know where i am exactly. i didnt know this guy. i told him i dont know anyone named anthony. and he said my full name, that he has a situation and he needs to know my location NOW because he needs to see me tonight. i told him if he has an emergency to call 911 not me and i hung up. i cursed a little here and there but that is me. i go into defense mode. i did not know him and i knew this because he had a “jersey shore guido” accent. im from NJ and i dont associate with those fake people thank you.

anyway i was scared…and my sister was next to me so she googled the number. it was a google proxy number..its confusing i think verizon has it too… that u can pretty much buy the phone number to only use it once and it cant be traced. so now i have a stalker???? and i guess he knows when my boyfriend is away. my full name and my phone number. since that night…i dont like to go anywhere without my boyfriend at all. i dont even like to go to my car in my driveway in the dark. SICK OF THIS.

– NJpink

Location: New Jersey

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

One Response to Through a phone call

  1. elaine says:

    “my sister was next to me so she googled the number. it was a google proxy number..its confusing i think verizon has it too… that u can pretty much buy the phone number to only use it once and it cant be traced. so now i have a stalker”

    It’s frightening when you realize that we have a significant portion of our capitalist consumer economy dedicated to producing products and services that do everything possible to facilitate the nuts and harassers preying on the rest of us (women in particular) to carry on their operations with ever greater ease. No one could convince me that these phone companies don’t know EXACTLY what these ‘disposable numbers’ are going to be used for in likely the majority of cases. Yet, because it’s probably hugely profitable to them, they go ahead and market this concept anyway–and put more and more women at the mercy of terrifyning–and often genuinely dangerous–maniacs and stalkers. Great. Women’s safety doesn’t count nearly as much as corporate profit, I guess…but then again, what in this country *does* matter nearly as much as corporate profits?

    I’m saddened by your story. I hope this nutjob was a one-off and you won’t be hearing from him again…but *please* be careful–this person sounds pretty unhinged, and may not confine his activities to just harassing phone calls.

Leave a comment