“Every time this happens, I feel sick with fear”

Saturday night I went out to dinner with some friends because of a birthday. I left early (had to catch my bus on 10:45 P.M.) since I had to go home. I never look forward to waiting for my bus/train to arrive. That’s why I always wear my headphones and listen to music. Not too loudly though, so I could still hear what people say around me. I shouldn’t have to do this, but I’m paranoid because of all the times I’ve been harassed while listening to music with the result that those men get angry because I’m not listening to them!

Then a group of men appeared and started to yell at me: “Hey girl! GIRL!” trying to gain my attention. I ignored them, but one of them seated himself next to me on the same bench I was sitting on and another one tried to catch my eye.

I was so relieved when my bus arrived. My relieve was crushed when I saw them getting up. They left me alone, but I was scared the whole ride that they would get off at the same stop as me and keep bothering me. Luckily they didn’t.

Every time this happens, I feel sick with fear. I’m so sick and tired of these privileged men harassing us. That they don’t have to feel that kind of fear. That most of them don’t (want to) understand. That I don’t get treated with respect and get laughed at when I say I want to get treated with respect.

This needs to stop!

– Daphné

Location: Gent, Belgium

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

One Response to “Every time this happens, I feel sick with fear”

  1. Golden Silence says:

    This needs to stop!

    Yes indeed! Men and boys who do this need to be held accountable for their actions.

Leave a comment