Captured on video without permission

I walked out on Columbia Road in Adams Morgan in DC Saturday night at about 9:30 p.m. I was on my cell phone text messaging a friend when a woman in a wheel chair violently wheeled herself up to about I’d say four feet in front of me grunting (nothing) but grunting violently. She stopped, then she abruptly did it again up to about two feet to the side of me. It startled me. I quickly stopped to move around her so she would not touch me, and then within seconds one of two guys on the other side of the sidewalk said to me, ” Oh, we got a phone camera too…we got a video camera, can we tape you, watch you…” I kept walking, and the other guy (now all of them behind me) said “keep walking, keep walking” as he taped me walk down the street on his cell phone. This low life (and his friend) have me on video and there’s nothing I can do about it.

– J.S.

Location: Columbia Road, Washington, DC

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

Leave a comment