Another death from street harassment

streetharassmentdeathI just read this – a young woman in Washington, DC, was killed two months ago after turning down the flirtatious advances of a young man passing by her house.

“Stanton was eating a hamburger her mother had made her Thursday night when Jones approached her and demanded she make him a hamburger, according to court documents. Stanton refused. Jones then approached the mother, again demanding a hamburger, said the records. Stanton’s mother also refused, saying “I don’t cook food for people I don’t know”, court records indicated.

Jones became angry, according to a witness, made a telephone call and left the area, according to court documents. A second witness told investigators that Jones returned and opened fire on Stanton’s apartment. The bullets passed through the front door, striking Stanton several times.

She was taken to a local hospital where she was pronounced dead. Her mother was shot in the foot and survived.”

Also from the article:

“Some women say neighborhood men can be overly aggressive.

“You never know. Well if I say no, is he going to do this or do that?…it’s just hard,” said Tia Terrell.

“I’ve had men approach me, and I turn my back, they throw rocks and stuff,” said Renay Smith. “That’s crazy. We don’t want to talk to you, just leave us alone.”

This points out what is so very scary about street harassment – a woman never knows how the man will react. Will he escalate his harassment if she ignores him, if she turns him down, if she calls him out, if she yells at him? It leaves us guessing and unsure how to react.

😦 I can’t believe another young woman is dead over this crap. I think this is the third death connected to street harassment that I’ve heard about in less than a year.

5 Responses to Another death from street harassment

  1. Golden Silence says:

    That’s not the only murder escalated from street harassment. Milded Beaubrun, Adilah Gaither, Sakia Gunn, and there probably are more than that, sadly.

    This is a scary world we live in. These violent scum (I can’t call them “men”) make it such.

  2. Thank you for sharing this information. It is so important for everyone to be informed about the real harms of street harassment. It’s not a joke, compliment, or “no big deal.” Real people have died because of it 😦

  3. Marshall Ford says:

    I’m not a witness to this kind of violence, but I really hate hearing these stories of someone getting killed over petty stuff on the news everyday. Also, Tanganika Stanton was a friend of mine, and hearing about her death made me furious. I still not over this.

  4. […] physical safety. it’s not uncommon for verbal harassment to become physical, like the story of Tanganika Stanton in dc, who was killed by what would have otherwise been known as no big deal, or a flirtatious […]

Leave a comment