“One of them reached out with both hands and clamped them onto my breasts”

I was out running in clapham, London one day. Not one for Lycra, I was in a baggy t-shirt and my rugby shorts, pink in the face and sweating away. Nobody could say I was asking for attention but attention I got when I encountered a gang of young men who blocked my path and refused to let me past. I had my headphones in and couldn’t hear their words but their expressions spoke volumes. I could see they were posturing for each other. I was merely annoyed until one of them reached out with both hands and clamped them onto my breasts. I had to actually grab his wrists and yank his hands off to break free.

I would never have considered myself a timid person but in this case I turned on my heel and sprinted back to where I came from. It was the middle of a sunny Saturday in an area of posh housing. The only way to avoid an incident like this appears to be to lock yourself away and that is completely unacceptable. I am a structural engineer who works with mainly men but none of my male friends would object to something being done about this. My dad has offered to buy me a cattleprod.

– Anonymous

Location: Clapham, London

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Find suggestions for what YOU can do about this human rights issue.

One Response to “One of them reached out with both hands and clamped them onto my breasts”

  1. Margaret says:

    A cattleprod might be part of the solution. Being groped by strangers is an awful experience.

Leave a Reply

