“Don’t let these perverts get you down!”

I live in NYC and get harassed pretty much every day. Yesterday I was in Union Square and this old man walked up to me and said, “Nice tits baby.” I ignored him and he proceeded to follow me from behind for two blocks saying things that I won’t even post here. I turned around and said, “Wtf is wrong with you?”

He took a left turn like one second later!

I’m 25 and have grown up here. I remember the first time I was harassed I was 12 and the guy was an old man too. At this point I am fed up and wish I could hit them with a baseball bat!

I recently found this site and I am proud of everyone for sharing their stories! Don’t let these perverts get you down!

– Alex

Location: Union Square, New York City

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Find suggestions for what YOU can do about this human rights issue

2 Responses to “Don’t let these perverts get you down!”

  1. Pam says:

    Hey good for you. I live in hells kitchen and get shit all the time!

  2. delila says:

    hi i loved that you told him off! and he went away.good job..im fresh out of 2 yrs of mexico too much attention but not intimidating as back here in the city in melbourne,australia..i can hardly leave the front door for 3 minutes to the supermarket,with out stares,sneers,what i call, being… eye raped!
    i have a background of being sexually assaulted.i wanted to go to india as i travel alot on my own but ,was completely put off by this disguisting behaviour,but now ive found out that you can yell at them & make a sceneand you can hit them in the face with your shoes!..and this is a totally acceptable practice to responde to their intimadating nonsense bullsh*t!..mmmm,i might even take up wearing stilletos!

Leave a Reply

