Expecting to be harassed

Being harassed just for being alone on the street happens so regularly, in so many different forms that I just expect it now. From a car pulling up next to me when I’m walking home with my shopping, the man inside telling me to ‘get in the car with me beautiful’ and when I loudly refuse calling me a ‘fucking bitch slapper whore’, to the pathetic and desperate attempt to single a lone women out by muttering ‘hi’ as I walk past. I don’t know you you freak!

Whatever I wear, what I am doing, walking to work past a building site or out for a run, men single you out. If you react aggressively then you risk their anger at your ingratitude to being made an object of, in the street, uninvited. I’m sick of it. I just want to go about my day uninhibited in this so-called free country.

– AMC

Location:  London, UK

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

One Response to Expecting to be harassed

  1. Golden Silence says:

    I just want to go about my day uninhibited in this so-called free country.

    Don’t I know it. Things have got to change.

Leave a Reply

