“This is the proper response.”

Walking down the street, an older guy standing on the corner held out a publication toward me.

“Wanna buy one, sweetie?”

“No thanks, and don’t call me ‘sweetie.'” My standard response.

He surprised me by answering sincerely, “Oh, I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to disrespect you.”

Thank you!

See, creepy guys who get angry when I tell you not to call me “angel,” “honey,” and “sweetheart?” This is the proper response.

– Cate Burlington

Location: Capitol Hill, Seattle, WA

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

3 Responses to “This is the proper response.”

  1. Violet says:

    This just happened to me today. I like to make them laugh by responding “Thanks, sweetie” or “No thanks, sweetie” It totally throws them for a loop. Morons.

  2. this happened to me once–ONCE! not that long ago. (relevant: i was late 40s, the guy was probably early 20s)

    I held the door for him. He says: thanks, darlin (a little unclearly so I wasn’t sure what he said). I say: did you just call me ‘darlin’? He straightens up, says: yes, ma’am! (remembering his manners, it looked like)

  3. Golden Silence says:

    I love when harassment stories have happy endings! That is exactly the way when should respond when called out on that “sweetie” mess.

Leave a Reply

