“It’s not okay to say things like that to strangers”

I was swiping my card to exit the U Street metro in DC, and a guy standing at the turnstile says, “Hey, why don’t you smile beautiful?” I kept walking but turned around to look at him as I walked away. I was speechless but I wanted him to know that I was watching him. It’s not okay to say things like that to strangers. This is why I wear sunglasses in public–I don’t want their attention!!

– SD

Location: U Street Metro,  Washington, DC

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

3 Responses to “It’s not okay to say things like that to strangers”

  1. Gabrielle says:

    Men have said that to me countless times. I don’t understand–am I not allowed to walk around with a blank expression like everyone else? Do I OWE a smile to every man who crosses my path? Next time turn around and tell him that you don’t smile for assholes.

  2. Judithica says:

    I recently blew-up at a guy over this. I began yelling about how he didn’t know the kind of day I’d had and how he had no right to expect me to be cheerful just so he can see a prettier world. I was kind of embarassed and walked away quickly, but I get that question a great deal and have mostly just smiled automatically.

  3. Golden Silence says:

    I was kind of embarassed and walked away quickly

    Why would you feel embarrassed? No stranger has the right to tell you to smile!

Leave a Reply

