“Can’t even go on a coffee break…”

Yesterday I was walking across 17th St. (at the intersection with K St. in Washington, DC) on my way to meet someone for coffee. As I stepped back up onto the sidewalk from the street, a guy on the corner said to me, “Hey there, beautiful.”

I just ignored him and continued walking by. After I got past him, he said, “F*** you!!” I was scared to turn around and say something because what if he decided to get violent after using such violent language and tone?

I ignored him again and was a little shaken by the time I got to the coffee shop.

– anonymous

Location: 17th and K Street, Washington, DC

Share your street harassment story today and help raise awareness about the problem. Include your location and it will be added to the Street Harassment Map.

3 Responses to “Can’t even go on a coffee break…”

  1. Golden Silence says:

    Oh yeah, “F*** you” because you didn’t dare stop living your life to cater to a stranger. Shaking my head and rolling my eyes at this!

    Sorry this happened. Harassers live to make our lives a living hell.

  2. […] April 2, 2010 · Leave a Comment Cross posted on Stop Street Harassment Blog: […]

  3. Kadri says:

    It´s quite scary.

Leave a Reply

